Getting Ready for a New Adventure with an Old Friend

Like I mentioned before, after almost 8 years of silence, I’ve gone back to the one form of writing which really was my gateway into the creative world, playwriting!! I spent my senior year of high school in a playwriting course and I absolutely adored it!! I expected to enter into college, major in english or communications and spend my professional career as a playwright. Unfortunately things didn’t turn out exactly as I would have wished.
As I was driving to school for my last day of senior year I was t-boned. I suffered numerous injuries, most devastatingly a traumatic brain injury. All of my dreams for my future were shattered. I was shattered. Eventually I got back into writing but I never got back to playwriting. I think the time is right. 

Getting back into playwriting aka my first love!!

Right now I am writing a sort of experimental theatre piece. It’s difficult to explain, but I want to show the type of cognitive disconnect between the mind and body a person with TBI experiences. Right now i have it set up that there are two characters which represent one person. One of the characters is the patient who suffered the tbi, and the other is their inner self. For example during one moment the patient gets a shot but doesn’t have the mental capacity to voice their reaction, the other character acts as a characterization of the patient’s reactions to their experiences. 

In a sense this play will do two things, it offers me a way to write plays again, and it also gives me a way to write about my own experiences with brain injuries. I’ve tried to write about my injury before, but it was just too emotional for me. I was just too close to that story so I couldn’t write it without making it maudlin or over the top. By writing it this way it gives me a way to write my story subjectively. 

What I’m writing: Right now I’m drafting a possible plotline of my play and some character profiles. I’m writing diary entries for each of my characters so I have a more grounded idea of their mental states. I’m also sketching some ideas for the set so I have at least a vague idea of the world my characters live in.
What I’m reading: One of the things I wanted read this year was the complete Sherlock Holmes and I just finished Hound of the Baskervilles. I have to get through a few of the short stories and I will be finished!! Oh and I’m about halfway done with A Dance with Dragons, the 5th Game of Thrones book. After I’ve finished that I’m planning on reading The Godfather by Mario Puzo. 

Exercise of the Day: The Scar

A lot of people in the world have scars. I have a circular scar on my hand from when I burned myself baking a pie. Take one of your scars  and create a character who has the same scar, but create a new story for how the character got that scar. For example I created a character who had a scar on his hand just like my own, but they got theirs from a dog bite and not from baking a pie.  Did their scar change them? Did the scar alter their appearance or personality? 

Have fun with this and I will see you later!!!

5 Comments

Filed under Characters, Creative, Creative writing, Drama, Fiction, Literature, Novels, Playwriting, Plot, Reading, Uncategorlzed, Writing, writing prompt, writing tips

5 responses to “Getting Ready for a New Adventure with an Old Friend

  1. Your new play idea sounds fascinating. I’ve also noticed that since I’ve gotten back into playwriting, I am finding myself more inclined to want to write another play than anything else. I just finished a first draft of my musical about a month ago. There are some issues, but at least I got from A to Z. It’s posted on my web site if you want to take a look. Good luck to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks!! I’ll be sure to give your musical a read!! I’ve never written a musical myself, but I have been a fan of them for years. My favorites are Gypsy and The Music Man. I don’t usually listen to many recent musicals, but I think it’s time I give it a try. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That play sounds very interesting. I dabbled in screenwriting a long time ago, but never pursued it. Part of me wishes I did. Congrats on pushing your dream forward. And, I love the writing exercise.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks!! When I first started writing it was in a playwriting class in high school. Lately I’ve been feeling a bit lost in my writing so I’m trying to go back to my beginnings. It’s really coming along too!! It feels like coming home!! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

