What are you reading/writing?

It’s been a long while since I’ve posted and, dang it’s good to be back!!! So what are you all writing and reading?

What are you writing?

I’ve started out the year by going through my yearly review. For the past month I’ve been going over all of my old notebooks full of old story ideas I had massed through the years. I gave the old idea tree a shake, and I found a few stories and outlines from years ago that I’d completely forgotten about. There was one story about a young girl who’s trying to solve a mystery in a Gothic mansion sometime in the 1800’s. The story as I had written it in college was a bit of a shambles so I think I might try to rewrite it as a play. I got started with creative writing during a playwriting course in high school, so I think it might be nice to get back to my roots. 

Getting back to my playwriting roots!! 🙂

What are you reading?

For the past few weeks I’ve been working through my ever expanding  to-read list. I’ve read the first 8 books in the Phryne Fisher murder mysteries series by Kerry Greenwood, Girl on the Train, and I’ve just started on Philip K Dick’s “The Man in the High Castle’. I’ve also started on my 2017 Reading Resolution List. Every year I give myself a challenge to read certain important books which I think I might have read but never actually have. This year I intend to read all of the Sherlock Holmes stories and novels, The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins, and Team of Rivals. I’ve become more interested in writing mystery stories so this year I decided to read the stories which laid the foundations for the genre. The Sherlock stories introduced a lot of the principles of forensic investigation (some of which are still in use today) and The Moonstone has been cited as the very first detective story ever written. 

Thanks for reading and commenting!!! I really appreciateI’ll see you soon!!!

Exercise of the day- Clearing the Cobwebs

We all get into ruts at times. Our minds start feeling sluggish and it seems that the world is speeding past without us. What does your character feel or think when they get into that mindset? What situations made them feel that way? What would they do to get their minds back into fighting form? Write a journal entry for your character which answers these questions.

Have fun with this!! 

 

8 Comments

Filed under Creative, Creative writing, Fiction, Ideas, Literature, nano, Nanowrimo, Novel Writing, Novels, Playwriting, Plot, Uncategorized, Writing, writing prompt, writing tips

8 responses to “What are you reading/writing?

  1. That sounds like a good exercise. As a writer who depends largely on being self-motivated, I battle sloth all the time. I’d never before pondered how my characters might address the issue. Even though I created them, I somehow have assume they were exempt from the sluggishness of their creator. I shall have to ponder this further.

    As you’ve no doubt gathered, I’m writing a musical play. I looked through some of your previous posts; and in the process began to feel less leery of the types of comments and criticisms I might receive in a writer’s workshop comprised primarily of novelists. I’m glad you posted your examples of poor stage directions (back in 2013). I myself am guilty of that. I do it out of anxiety that the actors and director will not grasp my character’s motivations and intentions. But in so doing, I limit the scope of their own creative work. Thank you for the reminder. I’m following.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the follow!! I got my start in creative writing during a playwriting course in high school, but I’ve never tried to write a musical play. I’ll be sure to check your blog to see how you progress. Right now I’m working on turning a short story I’d written on college into a horror play. I haven’t written a play in a few years but I’m excited to get back into the world of playwriting.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting – the first musical play I wrote was a parody of life in a college dorm. I had it produced once at a community theatre – then entered a playwriting contest held by a reputable regional theatre company. They selected one straight play and one musical, and mine was the musical selected. That was a coup at the time – but gosh, it seems like 100 years ago now. I’m glad you’ll be following me, however. I need all the support I can get! Good luck with your horror play. It will be interesting to see how that pans out.

    Like

  3. Writing: Working on my second Josephine DuBois novel, “Fool’s Journey” a noir mystery set in San Francisco.
    Reading: Terry Pratchett’s “Snuff” – Rex Stout’s “Over My Dead Body”
    Listening: Raymond Chandler’s “The Big Sleep” on Audible, masterfully read by Ray Porter.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Glad to see that Sherlock is on your list. I’ve read every Holmes story by Doyle numerous times as well as a large number of pastiches. The literary version of comfort food for me.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I love the idea of a reading resolution list! I am currently reading Night Broken by Patricia Briggs. And I have waaaay too many to name on my to be read.

    My work in progress is about a girl who found her parents murdered when she was eight. Everyone thought she was crazy because she thought vampires killed them. It’s now, fifteen years later and she’s finding out she wasn’t so crazy after all.

    I look forward to reading more of your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have always enjoyed the Sherlock Holmes stories. You’ll discover that Doyle invented a lot of the conventions of the genre. I also like to see someone who likes Rex Stout. I recently reread “Too Many Cooks.”

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

