Starting Again: This week’s work in progress

image

So in the past week I made the decision to start working on writing a memoir. When I was younger I was involved in a really bad car accident which changed my entire life so my memoir will chronicle my injuries from the moment I woke up in the hospital, my recovery, and my life after.

image

It's scary to start a new journey, but to grow as a writer I must face what frightens me.

It’s going to be a tough journey but even though I’ve just started I’ve been opened up to a new level of introspection. I’ve told my story to people before but I’ve never written about it before because it was too real. I guess it made me feel too vulnerable to open myself that much. I’m coming up on the 9 year anniversary of my accident so I just feel like now is the time for me to tell my story.

Ok so that’s what I’m working on, how about you all? What is rolling around inside your heads?

image

Exercise of the Day: the atmosphere
For this exercise I want you to describe a place. I really want you to get in touch with your senses and to go into how the air smells, what is the light quality in the room?, who else is there?, if there are other people how are they dressed?, what are the decorations? Write a deep description of this place and then read over what you have written. Can you see picture the place you’ve described?

So long!!

6 Comments

Filed under Books, Creative, Creative writing, Ideas, Literature, Nanowrimo, Novel Writing, Novels, Plot, Reading, Writing, writing prompt, writing tips

6 responses to “Starting Again: This week’s work in progress

  1. Good luck and am sure it will be therapeutic for you as well

    Like

  2. Best of luck with the memoir. I imagine they’ll be many tears as you write but the end result will be an incredibly honest and inspiring story. Can’t wait to read it.

    Like

  3. Good luck with the memoir. Personally I think all my stories are a kind of memoir, there is so much of me in them, wonder how many others out there feel that. Interesting prompt, thanks. Hope I can get the time to do it because some of my best pieces have come from pushes like this! J – https://writeattheheart.wordpress.com/

    Like

    • Thanks!! I’ve tried to write about my experiences through my fiction but it never felt right. It always came out feeling hokey and over the top. I thought that I might as well just tell my story as it happened instead of through fiction so that I can be sure it reads as truth.

      Like

Leave a Reply

