What is Your Favorite Writing Exercise?

What’s the BEST Writing Exercise

Writing Takes a lot of muscle and you cannot be afraid to EXERCISE!!

Writing Takes a lot of muscle and you cannot be afraid to EXERCISE!!

Writing exercises are one of the best ways to keep your “idea generating muscles” in shape. If you want to hone any skill what do you need to do? You need to practice practice practice!!!!!  Loyal readers of this blog will know, I like to put a little creative writing exercise at the end of every post. I wanted to ask all of you, what are a few of your favorite exercises? What writing prompts have you found really get your juices flowing? Comment below!!!

"The essence of all beautiful art, all great art, is gratitude" ~ Friedrich Nietzsche

“The essence of all beautiful art, all great art, is gratitude” ~ Friedrich Nietzsche

Thanks a lot! I want you to know I appreciate every blog like, every comment, reblog, and follower I get. You rock!!!!

Exercise of the Day

Exercise of the Day

Exercise of the Day: The Accent Exercise

Write a description of a place or an object with an accent that is NOT your own.  What turns of phrase and weird pronunciations does that character use? The trick with this exercise is to not make the character seem cartoon-ish. This exercise trains you to think in a way that is unlike yourself without mocking.

5 Comments

Filed under Characters, Creative, Creative writing, Dialogue, Drama, Ideas, Imagination, Literature, Novel Writing, Playwriting, Plot, Screenwriting, Uncategorized, Writing

5 responses to “What is Your Favorite Writing Exercise?

  1. I agree that writing is an exercise! When I don’t write for a while, I can tell I’m out of practice. I love writing prompts where you get the first sentence, and you have to go from there. It’s so interesting to see where my mind goes to take the story.

    Like

    • I love those types of exercises too! I also love giving another person the same sentence and seeing what they do it. That’s one of the most fascinating things about writing to me, how two writers who start from exactly the same place can wind up in such radically different places. Thanks for reading!

      Like

  2. Hello, here I am, visiting as promised. I definitely agree that creativity is a muscle that needs to be worked out to remain in shape. I can’t say I’m one for specific writing exercises anymore, instead preferring to spend my writing time to adding new words in my WIP or plotting out future stories.

    That said, one exercise I do make use of sometimes is interviewing my characters. Sometimes I’m shocked at what they have to tell me.

    Like

  3. I write a blog for the exercise. The only reason I started blogging was to teach my self the craft, the skills by which I can hold the readers attention.

    And the readership is taking an upward trend, so I must be learning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

