Why Writers Need to be Packrats: Never Throw Away Your Ideas

Well hello stranger! I am so sorry for the long wait, but unfortunately Hurricane Sandy messed up my online writing plans last year. Being without electricity for extended periods of time? I don’t recommend it. LOL!!! Unfortunately writing took a backseat to survival, but even without electricity I did take some time to work on my writing skills. I went back through my old box of ideas just to see what I could make of things. Speaking of which…

We’ve all seen that stereotypical picture of a writer living in a ramshackle apartment with papers and notebooks piled from floor ceiling. Well, for my money that’s not too far from the truth. I never throw out anything I write, even if it’s not that great. If you want to learn and grow as a writer one of the best pieces of advice you can get is to be a packrat. Say you write a bit of a short story and it doesn’t feel like it works at all, just because that idea didn’t work out now that doesn’t mean you won’t be able to use it in the future.

Despite the fact that there are some writers in the world who seem like they can pump out books like a sausage grinder, for most writers in the world every day is a struggle. Even if you have the best ideas in the world, it can still be a war to translate ideas into stories. I’ve got flash drives and old notebooks piled up that are full of old poems, novels and plays that I started but the stories just never got off the ground. A few of those ideas were really weak when I first tried to write them, but a few years later I was able to take them and shape them into something.

At least once a year, if not more frequently, I pull out a few of my old ideas and try them again. I tweak this or that and try to write the story from a new perspective. Sometimes I get inspiration and I can write more. Once there was a play that I hadn’t touched in five years, but when I pulled it out I just had a spark and I finished it! You can never really give up on your ideas, just save them. In time your perspective might change or you might see or experience something you can use to finish it.

It’s true, when you write that not all of your ideas are going to pan out the first time, but that doesn’t mean you have to give up on it. Writing is a struggle and sometimes it’s more like torture, but it makes the victories that much sweeter!!

That’s it from me for today folks!! Ta-ta for now!

Writing Exercise for the Day: The Curtains

Write a story where a husband and wife are buying new curtains. With this scene all your characters can talk about verbally is the curtains but underneath that they are having a conversation about an issue in their relationship (ie pregnancy, divorce, infidelity). When you’re done go back over the scene and see if the couple’s issue was made clear.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Characters, Creative, Creative writing, Dialogue, Drama, Ideas, Imagination, Literature, Novel Writing, Playwriting, Plot, Professional Writing, Screenwriting, Uncategorized, Writing

Leave a Reply

